Meeting with Yo-Yo Ma in Davos – the legendary world-renowned cellist

For our correspondent, the initial impression of Yo-Yo Ma was to see pictures of his smiling face on TV and Internet but he always seemed very much out of reach, until yesterday… On January 20, she witnessed the cellist Yo-Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble, offering a wonderful cross-border performance on the occasion of the Davos annual summit 2016. Despite his tight schedule, Yo-Yo Ma met our reporter after the show for a short exclusive interview.

This time o f the year, anumber of politicians, business leaders, reporters and celebrities from all around the world gathered in Davos, Switzerland, to explore issues of public concern.

1.1This year, “EurAsia Info” is very proud to stay in Davos during the World Economic Forum from January 20-23 and have close contact with the legendary world-renowned cellist Yo-Yo Ma, appreciating the fact that the famous musician is so approachable!
Yo-Yo Ma, the famous cellist has been born on October 7, 1955 in France but most people know him as a Chinese-American: though born in France, he spent a long time in a New York campus, and on the other hand, he is still Chinese. When Yo-Yo Ma was 4-years-old, he started to learn the piano Meeting with Yo-Yo Ma in Davos – the legendary world-renowned cellist and cello and gave his first performance in front of an audience when he was 5: he was a musical prodigy.

He attended Juilliard School and graduated from Harvard University. As a soloist and recording artist travelling through the world, his career can be described as wind and water. He was not only recording the classical repertoire but also covered a variety of folk music, such as American bluegrass music, traditional Chinese style, Argentine tango composer Ástor Piazzolla and Brazilian music.

Davos 2016 – Music across Borders with Yo Yo Ma

Celebrated musician Yo-Yo Ma brought to gether a world – class ensemble of musicians from a range of traditions for a musical demonstration that explores intercultural dialogue in music and everyday life.

Yo-Yo Ma has enjoyed a prolific career as both a soloist performing with orchestras around the world and a recording artist. In addition to recordings of the standard classical repertoire for his instrument, he has recorded a wide variety of folk music such as American bluegrass music, traditional Chinese melodies, the tangos of Argentinian composer Ástor Piazzolla as well as Brazilian music.

 

yo-yo Ma in Davos 20.1 (2)

In Davos, Yo-Yo Ma was joined by Sérgio and Odair Assad (Brazil), Sandeep Das (India), Johnny Gandelsman (USA), Cristina Pato (Spain), Kathryn Stott (UK) and Wu Tong (China) and, together, they delivered a world class performance.

Yo Yo Ma gave an introduction to the whole session and provided some background to the various pieces from all over the world, together with his colleagues.

YoYo Ma started the session with a joke, provoking an immediate interaction with the audience. He said: “In almost every culture, at some stage, a child comes to me after a concert telling me: ‘When I grow up, I would like to be a musician like you. ‘ Yo Yo Ma’s response in this case is: ‘Sorry, my friend, you
cannot do both…’”

So, apparently YoYo Ma does not believe that good musicians could ever become adults…For him, the openness of a child or the childlike curiosity is the basis for creativity, discovery, innovation and invention all over the world.

Contact with Yo-Yo Ma – Legendary musician with a very sympathetic character On January 20, 2016 at 2.30 pm, deeply impressed by the performance, I was waiting for Yo-Yo Ma. All others waiting for him had gone for a long time already but I still wanted to wait at the exit of the venue. It took another 15 minutes or so until the last person left the place: it was Yo Yo Ma.

I was overjoyed to see him and said: “Hello Mr. Ma!”

Yo-Yo Ma kindly replied: “Why did you not leave like all the others?”

I do not know why I said: “Because I feel not strong enough as long as I have not spoken to you…”

Yo-Yo Ma: “Are you a reporter?”

EurAsia Info: “Yes. I am a reporter but also the president of “EurAsia Info”, a Chinese newspaper published in Switzerland.”

Yo-Yo Ma smiled and said to me: “I feel you do everything with a very serious attitude and encouragement. I like to support you but please ask quickly as I do not have a lot of time now.”

So just asked one question: “What is the signifcance of the World Economic Forum in Davos to you as you gave a performance here?”

Yo-Yo Ma unexpectedly answered my question with a very serious attitude: “Whether it is in Davos or on other occasions, our performance and my music is a service of humanity and an opportunity to enter a dialogue with the audience and show them the beauty of music. I do not play the cello to be famous; everyone can be sure that it is all about making people happy.”

After that, Mr Ma gave me his business card and said: “We’ll certainly have the opportunity once to talk in more detail.” I replied: “Well, the next one will then rather be a real interview. Thank you for your time!”

Enchanting cellist Yo-Yo Ma

Yo – Yo Ma, the world – famous cellist, apparently has, in addition to his art, an equally convincing charm and charisma. He is playing the cello so naturally as if it was a part of his body. His face is smiling and he makes you feel really happy. Up to a certain degree, he removed the traditional load from the classical music but keeps a deeply humanistic spirit. He is a legendary performer and has a different experience than ordinary people.

Reporter in Davos: Eurasia Info Ailian Zhu

此文章还有以下语言版本: 简体中文

Leave a Reply

在达沃斯专访马友友–这位充满传奇色彩的世界著名大提琴家

本社记者对马友友最初的印象是在电视和网络上看到他微笑的照片,但总感觉他遥不可及,直到咋天1月20日,目睹大提琴演奏家马友友率领丝路合奏团在 达沃斯2016年度峰会 奉上了一场精彩跨界演出。尽管行程满满,在演出结束后,马友友还是回答了本记者的问题。

每年的这个时候,来自世界各地的众多政治家,商业领袖,记者和名人相聚于瑞士达沃斯山峰探讨广受全球公众关注的议题。
今年本报社《欧亚时报》很荣幸能参与报导正在达沃斯山上举办的【2016年世界经济论坛】1月20-23日,很荣幸能近距离的接触这位充满传奇色彩的世界著名大提琴家–马友友,体会到原来大音乐家是这么平易近人!

马友友,大提琴演奏家,1955年10月7日在法国出生,很多人都清楚马友友是华裔美国人,虽然出生在法国,但是他在纽约度过了校园时光,身体里流淌的是纯正的中国人的血液。马友友4岁开始学钢琴与大提琴, 5岁开始在观众面前演出,是个音乐小神童。他就读过茱莉亚学院,毕业于哈佛大学。作为世界巡回的乐器独奏家和唱片艺术家,他的事业可谓风生水起。他不仅录制经典曲目,还涉猎多种多样的民间音乐,例如美国蓝草音乐,传统中国风,阿根廷作曲家Ástor Piazzolla的探戈,还有巴西音乐。

2016年世界经济论坛 ——随马友友畅享音乐无国界
在1月20日,大提琴演奏家马友友率领丝路合奏团在达沃斯奉上了一场精彩跨界演出。马友友带来了来源于各个传统音乐届的世界级音乐家团队,展现了探索音乐与生活的跨文化交流的音乐表演。

在2016达沃斯论坛上,和马友友一起演出的还有来自巴西的Sérgio和 Odair Assad,来自印度的Sandeep Das,来自美国的Johnny Gandelsman,来自巴西的Cristina Pato,来自英国的Kathryn Stott,以及中国的Wu Tong,他们一起为观众呈现了一场世界级水平的演出。

马友友和他的同事一起,简单介绍了整个环节,并提供了来自世界各地的不同乐器的背景介绍。

马友友以幽默的妙语开启了这个环节,引发了和观众的即时互动。他说:几乎到每一种文化中演出,常会有孩子在音乐会结束后找到我,和我说"我长大以后,想成为像你一样的音乐家",而我的回答是这样的"很可惜,我的朋友,鱼和熊掌不可兼得哦……”。
对马友友来说,孩子的纯真或者孩子一般的好奇心是世界一切创造、发现、创新和发明的基础。

yo-yo Ma in Davos 20.1 (2)近距离接触马友友-传奇音乐人原来好亲切
在2016年1月20日14.30分,在演出结束约半小时候以后,工作人员对等待想见马友友的人说,马友友已经离开会场了。没多久所有人都走光了,但是我还是等着最后一点希望,傻傻地在会场的出口处等待。没多久约15分钟左右,休息室最后出来的那个人就是马友友先生。

我喜出望外地说:马先生您好!
马友友他很亲切的说:"你怎么没和其他的人一起走啊?"
我不知为何说到:"因为没跟您说上话我走不动喔"
马友友:你是记者吗?
欧亚时报:是的。我是瑞土华人报社的记者,也是欧亚时报的社长。
马友友笑着跟我说:"感觉你做事态度很认真,鼓励、支持下你的工作,我现在赶时间,你想问什么,就快问吧"。

那我就只问一个问吧:您这次在全球聚焦的达沃斯2016世界经济论坛演出,对您来说意义是什么?

马友友出乎意料很认真地回答了我的问题:“无论是在达沃斯,还是在别的场合演出,我的音乐是为人类服务的,为大家展示美,而不是为了展示自己的成就。我拉琴不是为了出名,演出能被众人肯定才是最大的意义”

马先生说这些后,他给了我一张名片,他说以后有机会我们再详细的聊。我说好,期待下一次能约真正的专访,谢谢您的时间!

迷人大提琴家马友友
本人发现在马友友身上,世界著名大提琴家,除了他的艺术魅力同样令人折服的还有他的人格魅力。他是位演奏大提琴自如得仿佛是支配他身体一部分的人;他是位总是抱着琴笑得让你觉得与音乐相伴真是快乐的人;他是位让传统的古典音乐承载起时代人文精神的人;他是位有着不同一般演奏家的传奇经历的人。

图文:欧亚时报在达沃斯 朱爱莲

此文章还有以下语言版本: English

发表评论